Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Excessive Force against Demonstrators, Abuses in Detention

Tuesday 26 November 2019


(Santiago de Chile, November 25, 2019) – Chilean authorities should overhaul the police force to strengthen police oversight in the wake of compelling evidence of excessive use of force and abuses against demonstrators, Human Rights Watch said today. Starting on October 18, 2019, thousands of Chileans took to the streets to protest an increase in the price of public transportation. The demonstrations broadened to reflect anger over living costs and inequality. During weeks of protests, some of which were very violent, Carabineros, Chile’s national police, committed serious human rights violations, including excessive use of force in the streets, arrests without any judicial oversight, and abuses in detention.

MORE AMERICAS
ALL STORIES

Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:04

3 0 6 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 4 0 0
Honduras: Abortion Ban’s Dire Consequences

Thursday 06 June 2019

0 0 3 2 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0
Colombia: New Army Commanders Linked to Killings

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Length 00:43

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Mass Sexual Harassment, Caught on Tape

Friday 08 February 2019

Length 00:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
A Trail of Death after Another Dam Collapses in Brazil

Wednesday 30 January 2019

0 0 0 0 2 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Refugee Crisis Requires Concerted Regional Response

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 2:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Pesticide Poisonings in Rural Areas

Friday 20 July 2018

Length 1:00

1 0 10 0 0 0
Brazil: People With Disabilities Confined in Terrible Conditions

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 06:52

4 0 10 0 0 0