Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Thousands Held Long-Term in Deplorable Conditions

Tuesday 10 September 2019


(Abuja, September 10, 2019) – The Nigerian military has arbitrarily detained thousands of children in degrading and inhuman conditions for suspected involvement with the armed Islamist group Boko Haram, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Many children are held without charge for months or years in squalid and severely overcrowded military barracks, with no contact with the outside world. The 47-page report, “‘They Didn’t Know if I Was Alive or Dead’: Military Detention of Children for Suspected Boko Haram Involvement in Northeast Nigeria,” documents how Nigerian authorities are detaining children, often based on little or no evidence. Children described beatings, overwhelming heat, frequent hunger, and being packed tightly in their cells with hundreds of other detainees “like razorblades in a pack,” as one former detainee said.

GRAPHICS (3)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

The Future We Build Together

Monday 13 July 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Alabama Sex-Ed

Wednesday 08 July 2020

Length 02:55

3 0 0 0 0 0
Canada: Bring Home ISIS Suspects and Relatives from Syria

Monday 29 June 2020

Length 02:14

2 0 0 0 0 0
Take Action to #KeepWaterOn in the US

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Jordan: Secondary School Gap for Syrian Refugee Kids

Friday 26 June 2020

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
France: Children Face Abusive, Racist Police Stops

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 04:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
#RatifyC190: End Violence, Harassment at Work

Thursday 18 June 2020

Length 02:39

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mexico: Families Abuse, Neglect People with Disabilities

Thursday 04 June 2020

Length 02:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0