Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Bosco Ntaganda Case Spotlights Need for Justice in DR Congo

Monday 08 July 2019


(The Hague, July 8, 2019) – The International Criminal Court’s (ICC) conviction of the Congolese rebel leader Bosco Ntaganda sends a strong message that justice may await those responsible for grave crimes in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Human Rights Watch said today.

On July 8, 2019, a panel of three judges unanimously found Ntaganda guilty of 13 counts of war crimes and five counts of crimes against humanity committed in Ituri, eastern Congo, in 2002 and 2003. The charges included murder and attempted murder, rape, sexual slavery, attacking civilians, pillaging, displacement of civilians, attacking protected objects, and recruiting and using child soldiers. The judges found that Ntaganda and others agreed on a common plan to attack and drive the ethnic Lendu population out of Ituri through the commission of crimes. Human Rights Watch issued a question-and-answer document on Ntaganda’s trial.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: Change Comes with Punishing Cost

Monday 04 November 2019

Length 01:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: Sanctions Threatening Health

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Length 01:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
#MeToo Movement’s Second Anniversary

Monday 14 October 2019

Length 02:40

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brussels: Innovative Mental Health Support

Thursday 10 October 2019

Length 03:25

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Little Help for Conflict-Linked Trauma

Monday 07 October 2019

Length 01:18

1 0 0 9 0 0
Guinea: A Decade Later, No Justice for Massacre

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Length 02:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Leaders: Stand for Democracy and Human Rights at UNGA

Tuesday 24 September 2019

Length 00:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
Indonesia: Indigenous Peoples Losing Their Forests

Sunday 22 September 2019

Length 05:02

3 0 12 0 0 0
Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Thursday 19 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:04

3 0 6 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0