Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Japan: Compelled Sterilization of Transgender People

Reform Legal Procedure for Gender Recognition

Tuesday 19 March 2019


(Tokyo, March 20, 2018) – Japan’s government should stop forcing transgender people to be surgically sterilized if they want legal recognition of their gender identity, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Requiring a medical intervention as a condition of having their gender identity legally recognized violates Japan’s human rights obligations and runs counter to international medical standards. The 84-page report, “‘A Really High Hurdle’: Japan’s Abusive Transgender Legal Recognition Process,” documents how Japan’s Gender Identity Disorder Special Cases (GID) Act harms transgender people who want to be legally recognized but cannot or do not want to undergo irreversible medical procedures like sterilization.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: Gezi Protests Trial to Begin

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 01:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: “Money Slipped through My Fingers Like Water”

Friday 14 June 2019

Length 00:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Policies Fuel Teen Pregnancy

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 9:05

1 0 17 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
Honduras: Abortion Ban’s Dire Consequences

Thursday 06 June 2019

0 0 3 2 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Serious Abuses, War Crimes in North Sinai

Tuesday 28 May 2019

Length 3:49

2 0 5 2 0 0
European Elections 2019

Monday 06 May 2019

Length 01:30

10 0 0 0 0 0
China: How Mass Surveillance Works in Xinjiang

Wednesday 01 May 2019

Length 4:41

10 0 0 0 0 0
AU: Uphold Rights Body’s Independence

Friday 26 April 2019

Length 01:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0