Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Saudi Arabia: 10 Reasons Why Women Flee

Rampant Discrimination, Abuse

Thursday 31 January 2019


(Beirut, January 29, 2019) – Rahaf al-Qunun, the Saudi woman who managed to successfully flee her allegedly abusive family, has shed new light on the countless women trapped under the abusive male guardianship system in Saudi Arabia, Human Rights Watch said today. Women face systematic discrimination and are left exposed to domestic violence under the male guardianship system and have few places to turn when they face abuse, leading some women to undertake dangerous escape attempts to flee the country. Under the male guardianship system, a man controls a Saudi woman’s life from her birth until her death. Every Saudi woman must have a male guardian, normally a father or husband, but in some cases a brother or even a son, who has the power to make a range of critical decisions on her behalf. The Saudi state essentially treats women as permanent legal minors. Saudi Arabia has done very little to end the system, which remains the most significant impediment to women’s rights in the country.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Surge in Garment Industry Transparency

Wednesday 18 December 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 2 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Development Banks Linked to Palm Oil Abuses

Monday 25 November 2019

Length 01:00

2 0 11 0 5 0
Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0