Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Myanmar: Peaceful Critics Prosecuted

Repeal or Amend Laws Criminalizing Speech, Assembly

Thursday 31 January 2019


(Yangon, February 1, 2019) – Myanmar’s first democratically elected civilian government in decades has prosecuted large numbers of peaceful critics in violation of basic human rights, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Concerned governments should press Myanmar to protect the rights to expression and assembly, and reform laws penalizing peaceful speech to bring them in line with international standards. The report “Dashed Hopes: The Criminalization of Peaceful Expression in Myanmar” documents the use of broad and vaguely worded laws against activists, journalists, and ordinary citizens by Aung San Suu Kyi’s National League for Democracy-led government. While discussion of a wide range of topics now flourishes in the media and online, those speaking critically of the government, military, or their officials, as well as abuses in Rakhine or Kachin States, are frequently subject to arrest and prosecution.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Vote 2020 with Nicole Austin-Hillery.

Monday 24 February 2020

Length 04:06

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: No Letup in Killings by Nairobi Police

Thursday 20 February 2020

Length 01:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
Vietnam: LGBT Youth Unprotected

Thursday 13 February 2020

0 0 4 0 0 0
Syria: Address Fate of Missing Victims of ISIS

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Length 03:13

2 0 0 0 0 0
Explosive Weapons Devastating for Civilians

Thursday 06 February 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Violent Abuses in Illegal Gold Mines

Tuesday 04 February 2020

Length 00:48

2 0 0 0 0 0
Rights After Brexit

Saturday 01 February 2020

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Armed Groups Control Lives at Border

Wednesday 22 January 2020

Length 02:08

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chinese Government Poses Global Threat to Human Rights

Tuesday 14 January 2020

Length 02:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Surge in Garment Industry Transparency

Wednesday 18 December 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 2 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Failure to End Abuses in Quranic Schools

Monday 16 December 2019

0 0 11 0 0 0
Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0