Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Barriers Include Underinvestment, Fees, Discrimination

Tuesday 13 November 2018

(London, November 13, 2018) – The Pakistan government is failing to educate a huge proportion of the country’s girls, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. 

The report, “‘Shall I Feed My Daughter, or Educate Her?’: Barriers to Girls’ Education in Pakistan,” concludes that many girls simply have no access to education, including because of a shortage of government schools – especially for girls. Nearly 22.5 million of Pakistan’s children – in a country with a population of just over 200 million – are out of school, the majority of them girls. Thirty-two percent of primary school age girls are out of school in Pakistan, compared with 21 percent of boys. By ninth grade, only 13 percent of girls are still in school.

PHOTOS (6)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Barriers to Free Movement for Older People

Thursday 29 November 2018

Length 01:10

2 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Numbers Highlight Health Crisis

Thursday 15 November 2018

0 0 26 0 1 0
Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Turkey: Workers Behind Bars as Airport Opens

Monday 29 October 2018

Length 01:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Sudan: Soldiers Attack Civilians in Western Region

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 1 0 0 0
Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0