Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Criminal Investigations and Prosecutions Urgently Needed

Friday 19 October 2018


(Nairobi, October 19, 2018) – The government of Ethiopia should commit to undertaking criminal investigations and prosecutions following many years of rights abuses in Jail Ogaden, a detention facility in eastern Ethiopia’s Somali region, Human Rights Watch said today. A video released today by Human Rights Watch features victims’ accounts, using footage filmed inside the prison in September. On August 22, 2018, Somali Regional State officials formally closed Jail Ogaden and announced that it will be converted into a museum. On August 27, federal officials arrested the Somali region president, Abdi Mohamoud Omar, for “violations of human rights and inciting ethnic and religious conflict in the Somali region.” He has not yet been charged. However, officials have not taken any known measures to investigate and prosecute senior members of the Liyu Police, a paramilitary regional force, and other Somali region officials who have been implicated in years of abuse in Jail Ogaden and throughout the region.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

#MeToo Movement’s Second Anniversary

Monday 14 October 2019

Length 02:40

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brussels: Innovative Mental Health Support

Thursday 10 October 2019

Length 03:25

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Little Help for Conflict-Linked Trauma

Monday 07 October 2019

Length 01:18

1 0 0 9 0 0
Guinea: A Decade Later, No Justice for Massacre

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Length 02:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Leaders: Stand for Democracy and Human Rights at UNGA

Tuesday 24 September 2019

Length 00:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
Indonesia: Indigenous Peoples Losing Their Forests

Sunday 22 September 2019

Length 05:02

3 0 12 0 0 0
Tajikistan: Barriers to Aid for Domestic Violence Victims

Thursday 19 September 2019

Length 04:59

3 0 0 7 0 0
Brazil: Criminal Networks Target Rainforest Defenders

Tuesday 17 September 2019

Length 07:04

3 0 6 0 0 0
Nigeria: Military Holding Children as Boko Haram Suspects

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Length 01:37

2 0 0 3 0 0
France: Immigrant Children Being Denied Protection

Thursday 05 September 2019

Length 03:46

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nigeria: Anguish, Poverty Confront Trafficking Survivors

Tuesday 27 August 2019

Length 01:47

1 0 0 1 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0