Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

  • © 2018 Planet Labs; Source: Human Rights Watch
  • © 2018 Planet Labs; Source: Human Rights Watch
  • © 2018 Planet Labs; Source: Human Rights Watch

New Satellite Imagery Shows Growth in Detention Camps for Children

Tent City Grows in Tornillo, Texas

Wednesday 03 October 2018

(New York) – A satellite image taken on September 13, 2018 shows substantial growth in the tent city the US government is using to detain migrant children located in the desert in Tornillo, Texas. The tent city was originally used to house children separated from parents this summer, when the Trump administration was aggressively prosecuting parents traveling with children for illegal entry to the US. The US Department of Health and Human Services has stated that the new growth in the number of tents is necessary in order to house children who may cross the border on their own, unaccompanied by family members.

MAP/SATELLITE (3)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Rwanda: A Year On, No Justice for Refugee Killings

Saturday 23 February 2019

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Police Killed, ‘Disappeared’ 34 Youth

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Length 02:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: End Ankara Ban on LGBTI Events

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Length 02:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Scant Help to Bring Home ISIS Members’ Children


Monday 11 February 2019

Length 02:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Video Footage Shows Extreme Violence, Abuse

Sunday 10 February 2019

Length 1:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Mass Sexual Harassment, Caught on Tape

Friday 08 February 2019

Length 00:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Poland: Women’s Rights Supporters Targeted

Wednesday 06 February 2019

Length 03:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Cambodia: Acid Attack Survivors Denied Treatment, Justice

Monday 04 February 2019

Length 03:44

3 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Peaceful Critics Prosecuted

Thursday 31 January 2019

Length 2:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: 10 Reasons Why Women Flee

Thursday 31 January 2019

Length 01:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
A Trail of Death after Another Dam Collapses in Brazil

Wednesday 30 January 2019

0 0 0 0 2 0
Libya: Displaced Population Can’t Go Home

Thursday 24 January 2019

Length 02:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan: Garment Workers’ Rights at Risk

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

Monday 21 January 2019

Length 01:36

1 0 0 5 0 0
World Report 2019: Reversing Autocrats’ Attacks on Rights

Thursday 17 January 2019

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0