Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Indonesia: Shackling Reduced, But Persists

Oversight Crucial to End Abuse of People with Disabilities

Tuesday 02 October 2018


(Jakarta, October 2, 2018) – The Indonesian government has taken important steps to end the practice of shackling people with mental health conditions, Human Rights Watch said today. But many people remain locked up in institutions instead of being able to live in the community. The number of people with psychosocial disabilities (mental health conditions) who are shackled or locked up in confined spaces dropped from nearly 18,800, the last reported figure, to about 12,800 in July 2018, according to Indonesian government data. The change resulted in part from community outreach to over 16.2 million households.

PHOTOS (18)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kids Talk Coronavirus

Thursday 09 April 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 Response Update

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Length 02:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Latin America: Cut Prison Crowding to Fight COVID-19

Thursday 02 April 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 : A Human Rights Perspective

Wednesday 01 April 2020

Length 01:57

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary’s Orban Uses Pandemic to Seize Unlimited Power

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
People are Mobilizing to Help During the COVID-19 crisis

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0