Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Human Rights Watch Makes Material Available in Sign Language

Sunday 23 September 2018


(New York) ­ – Access to sign language, including in education and public services, is critical for the human rights of deaf people, Human Rights Watch said today. On the first International Day of Sign Languages, Human Rights Watch is trying to make its work more accessible to deaf communities by translating its publications into sign language, and making them available through videos. The United Nations General Assembly has proclaimed September 23, 2018 as the first International Day of Sign Languages, to raise public awareness of sign languages and their vital importance to fundamental rights. This is a symbolic victory for deaf communities worldwide, commended by the World Federation of the Deaf and the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.Learn more: https://www.hrw.org/news/2018/09/23/sign-language-key-deaf-peoples-rights

GRAPHICS (1)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Colombia/Venezuela: Attacks on Civilians in Border Area

Thursday 08 August 2019

Length 01:53

2 0 5 0 0 0
South Africa: Decriminalize Sex Work

Wednesday 07 August 2019

Length 05:08

3 0 0 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: Coup Trial Travesty of Justice

Friday 02 August 2019

Length 03:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mashrou’ Leila is Lebanon’s Latest Free Speech Victim

Friday 26 July 2019

Length 00:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Crimean Tatars Face Unfounded Terrorism Charges

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 03:55

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Congo Warlord Guilty of Crimes Against Humanity

Monday 08 July 2019

Length 01:59

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0
Philippines: ‘Drug War’ Devastates Children’s Lives

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 4 0 0 0
Gambia: Women Accuse Ex-President of Sexual Violence

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Length 03:42

2 0 4 0 0 0
Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: Gezi Protests Trial to Begin

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 01:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: “Money Slipped through My Fingers Like Water”

Friday 14 June 2019

Length 00:47

2 0 0 0 0 0