Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Inadequate Investigations, Prosecutions, Remedies, Support

Wednesday 05 September 2018

(Nouakchott, September 5, 2018) – The criminalization of sexual relations outside marriage in Mauritania puts rape survivors at risk, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The law deters them from filing complaints because they could themselves face prosecution. 

The 90-page report, “‘They Told Me to Keep Quiet’: Obstacles to Justice and Remedy for Sexual Assault Survivors in Mauritania,” found that when survivors do come forward, police and judicial investigators do not respect their rights and dignity. Human Rights Watch found that investigative procedures do not ensure privacy or confidentiality, rarely offer the possibility to interact with female officials, and can turn into an investigation of the rape survivor’s moral character. Many survivors have limited access, if any, to legal aid, or medical, mental health, and social support.

MORE AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
South Sudan: Soldiers Attack Civilians in Western Region

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 1 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Friday 19 October 2018

Length 01:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 2 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Guinea: Bauxite Mining Boom Threatens Rights

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:19

5 0 7 0 0 0
Eritrea: Diplomacy Changes, but Political Prisoners Remain

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Cameroon: Killings, Destruction in Anglophone Regions

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 3:28

3 0 12 4 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Côte d’Ivoire: Justice for 2010-11 Crimes Stagnates

Monday 07 May 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Somalia: Detained Children Face Abuse

Wednesday 21 February 2018

Length 2:55

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Sudan: Warring Parties Break Promises on Child Soldiers

Tuesday 06 February 2018

Length 2:41

2 0 0 0 0 0
Somalia: Thousands Homeless as Settlements Razed

Monday 29 January 2018

0 0 0 1 4 0
DR Congo: Security Forces Fire on Catholic Churchgoers

Friday 19 January 2018

Length 1:15

1 0 0 0 0 0