Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

  • © 2018 Planet Labs
  • © 2018 Planet Labs

Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Detention Harms Children, Even If Held with Family

Wednesday 20 June 2018

(New York, June 20, 2018) – A satellite image taken of the desert tent city for children the US government is taking from their families shows the humanitarian crisis manufactured by the Trump administration’s “zero-tolerance” immigration policy, Human Rights Watch said today.

The image from June 19, 2018, shows the Department of Health and Human Services tent city in Tornillo, Texas which was built on June 10 initially with 360 beds but with room for expansion. 
Republican Representative Will Hurd, who recently visited the site, said the facility can hold up to 4,000 beds. The image is sufficiently detailed to show 28 tents erected to date, each approximately 50 square meters. Media reports indicate each tent holds about 20 children, prompting Human Rights Watch to estimate the facility has capacity for 540 children right now.


To download RAW satellite imagery: https://spaces.hightail.com/receive/OjKAVWTDTt 

To download color corrected TIFF satellite imagery:

https://spaces.hightail.com/receive/wPiY36WRrH 

PHOTOS (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Turkey: Workers Behind Bars as Airport Opens

Monday 29 October 2018

Length 01:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Sudan: Soldiers Attack Civilians in Western Region

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 1 0 0 0
Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Friday 19 October 2018

Length 01:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: No Action to Enforce New Waste Law

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Residents Blocked From Returning

Monday 15 October 2018

Length 1:09

1 0 0 0 3 0
Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 2 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Eritrea: Diplomacy Changes, but Political Prisoners Remain

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0