Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Brazil: People With Disabilities Confined in Terrible Conditions

Ensure Community-Based Services, Right to Make Decisions

Wednesday 23 May 2018


(Rio de Janeiro, May 23, 2018) – Thousands of children and adults with disabilities in Brazil are needlessly confined to institutions, where they may face neglect and abuse, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Brazil should make it a priority to provide support for people with disabilities to live independently and in their communities, rather than in institutions.The report, “‘They Stay Until They Die’: A Lifetime of Isolation and Neglect in Institutions for People with Disabilities in Brazil,” found that many people with disabilities enter institutions as children and remain there for their entire lives. Most of these institutions visited by Human Rights Watch researchers did not provide for more than people’s basic needs, such as food and hygiene, with scarce contact with the community and little opportunity for personal development. Some residents are tied to their beds and given sedatives to control them.

PHOTOS (10)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Philippines: Lasting Harm to Children from ‘Drug War’

Wednesday 27 May 2020

Length 04:16

4 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Urgent Aid Needed to Combat Covid-19

Tuesday 26 May 2020

Length 01:35

1 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Imagery Shows 200 Buildings Burned

Monday 25 May 2020

0 0 0 0 4 0
Burkina Faso: Armed Islamists Attack Education

Tuesday 19 May 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 6 0 0 0
If Not Now, When?

Thursday 07 May 2020

Length 03:36

3 0 10 0 0 0
Into the Abyss

Monday 04 May 2020

Length 00:50

5 0 5 0 2 0
Greece: Refugees Working to Protect Moria Camp from Covid-19

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Length 02:16

1 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Dam Displacement Destroys Livelihoods

Thursday 16 April 2020

Length 02:12

2 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Unsafe Water Raises COVID-19 Risks

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Length 03:51

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kids Talk Coronavirus

Thursday 09 April 2020

Length 02:20

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 Response Update

Tuesday 07 April 2020

Length 02:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Latin America: Cut Prison Crowding to Fight COVID-19

Thursday 02 April 2020

Length 00:55

1 0 0 0 0 0
COVID-19 : A Human Rights Perspective

Wednesday 01 April 2020

Length 01:57

1 0 0 0 0 0
Ohio, Texas Use COVID-19 to Stop Abortions

Friday 27 March 2020

Length 00:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Hungary’s Orban Uses Pandemic to Seize Unlimited Power

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
People are Mobilizing to Help During the COVID-19 crisis

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0