Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Côte d’Ivoire: Justice for 2010-11 Crimes Stagnates

Rights Groups Urge President to Support Fair, Credible Trials

Monday 07 May 2018

(Abidjan, May 8, 2018) -- Côte d’Ivoire’s President, Alassane Ouattara, should do more to fulfill his promise of justice for victims of the country’s 2010-11 post-election crisis, 10 national and international human rights groups said today in a joint letter to the president. Ouattara, who was sworn for his first term seven years ago, has said repeatedly that, “there will be no impunity in Côte d’Ivoire.” But no one has been held accountable in Ivorian courts for the war crimes and likely crimes against humanity committed during the crisis.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
China: Massive Crackdown in Muslim Region

Monday 10 September 2018

Length 03:33

3 0 10 0 0 0
India: Supreme Court Strikes Down Sodomy Law

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 01:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Refugee Crisis Requires Concerted Regional Response

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 2:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Fails on its Promises to Curtail Violations

Friday 24 August 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Chilling Accounts of Torture, Deaths

Sunday 19 August 2018

0 0 0 4 0 0
Egypt: No Justice For Rab’a Victims 5 Years On

Monday 13 August 2018

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Endure Floods, Landslides

Sunday 05 August 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Landmark Proposals on Gender Bias, Privacy

Thursday 26 July 2018

Length 1:23

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0