Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Hissène Habré: Scenes from an Historic Trial

Hissène Habré Verdict Set for May 30

Tuesday 17 May 2016


(Dakar, May 17, 2016) – Human Rights Watch today released a new video, Hissène Habré: Scenes from an historic trial, about the trial in Senegal of the former Chadian dictator Hissène Habré. At the end of the trial on February 11, 2016, the court announced that the verdict would be scheduled for May 30. Habré faces charges of crimes against humanity, torture, and war crimes before the Extraordinary African Chambers, which is part of the Senegalese court system. Habré's trial, which began on July 20, 2015, was the first in the world in which the courts of one country prosecuted the former ruler of another for alleged human rights crimes. Witness hearings ended in December after 52 days of trial, and were followed by the parties' summations in February. The new Human Rights Watch video highlights some of the key moments of the trial.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ethnic Discrimination a Key Barrier

Thursday 12 December 2019

Length 02:06

1 0 0 0 0 0
Greece: Camp Conditions Endanger Women, Girls

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 03:01

2 0 7 0 0 0
Gambia: Commission Uncovers Ex-Dictator’s Alleged Crimes

Wednesday 04 December 2019

Length 04:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Children Denied Education

Monday 02 December 2019

Length 01;00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Chile: Reform Police in the Wake of Protests

Tuesday 26 November 2019

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Development Banks Linked to Palm Oil Abuses

Monday 25 November 2019

Length 01:00

2 0 11 0 5 0
Sudan: Justice Needed for Protester Killings

Monday 18 November 2019

Length 01:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Croatia Slams Door on Migrants

Friday 08 November 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: Change Comes with Punishing Cost

Monday 04 November 2019

Length 01:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: Sanctions Threatening Health

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Length 01:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
#MeToo Movement’s Second Anniversary

Monday 14 October 2019

Length 02:40

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brussels: Innovative Mental Health Support

Thursday 10 October 2019

Length 03:25

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Little Help for Conflict-Linked Trauma

Monday 07 October 2019

Length 01:18

1 0 0 9 0 0
Guinea: A Decade Later, No Justice for Massacre

Wednesday 25 September 2019

Length 02:32

2 0 0 0 0 0