Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

  • © 2017 Human Rights Watch
  • © 2017 Human Rights Watch

Mauritania: Human Rights Defenders at Risk

Curbs on Activism Over Discrimination, Other Sensitive Topics

Saturday 10 February 2018

(Nouakchott) – Mauritania’s human rights defenders face repression when they raise the country’s most sensitive social issues, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The issues include ethnic and caste discrimination, slavery, and the need for accountability for a campaign of atrocities against certain groups three decades ago.

The 73-page page report, “Ethnicity, Discrimination, and Other Red Lines: Repression of Human Rights Defenders in Mauritania,” examines the legal framework that allows the government to easily refuse legal recognition to associations it dislikes, on such grounds as engaging in “anti-national propaganda” or “exercis[ing] an unwelcome influence on the minds of the people.” Without legal recognition, associations are hard-pressed to rent a hall for a meeting or public event, obtain permission to peacefully protest, or obtain funding from foreign donors.

PHOTOS (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Cameroon: Killings, Destruction in Anglophone Regions

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 03:28

2 0 12 4 0 0
Greece: Asylum-Seeking Children Deprived of School

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 2:36

2 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: New Video on Cruel ‘Offshore Processing’ Policy

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 01:53

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Victims Deserve Justice

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 05:10

2 0 0 5 0 0
International Criminal Court’s 20th Anniversary

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Length 3:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
France: Child Migrants Left Adrift in Paris

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 05:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Landslides Threaten Rohingya Shelters

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 0 0 0 0