Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Afghanistan: ICC Prosecutor Asks to Open Inquiry

Could Bring Victims Long Overdue Path to Justice

Monday 20 November 2017

(Brussels, November 20, 2017) – The International Criminal Court prosecutor’s request for an investigation in Afghanistan on November 20, 2017, could begin a long overdue path to justice for victims of grave international crimes, Human Rights Watch said today, releasing a question and answer document about the situation. A three-member panel of ICC judges will now decide whether it can step in as a court of last resort to address the worst abuses committed in Afghanistan.

The ongoing armed conflict in Afghanistan has resulted in numerous violations of the laws of war by the belligerents. Targeted attacks on civilians by the Taliban and other insurgents have caused thousands of civilian casualties. The Afghan government has not prosecuted torture, rape, enforced disappearances, and extrajudicial killings by Afghan police and security forces. Foreign forces, notably the United States military and Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), have also committed serious abuses in Afghanistan.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Brazil: Pesticide Poisonings in Rural Areas

Friday 20 July 2018

Length 1:00

1 0 10 0 0 0
Cameroon: Killings, Destruction in Anglophone Regions

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 3:28

3 0 12 4 0 0
Greece: Asylum-Seeking Children Deprived of School

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 2:36

2 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: New Video on Cruel ‘Offshore Processing’ Policy

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 01:53

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Victims Deserve Justice

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 05:10

2 0 0 5 0 0
International Criminal Court’s 20th Anniversary

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Length 3:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
France: Child Migrants Left Adrift in Paris

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 05:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0