Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ban Forced Anal Exams Around World

Abusive “Tests” for Homosexual Conduct Violate Rights

Tuesday 12 July 2016

(Geneva, July 12, 2016) – Forced anal examinations on men and transgender women accused of consensual same-sex conduct have been reported in at least eight countries in the last five years, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. These examinations lack evidentiary value and are a form of cruel, inhuman, and degrading treatment that may in some cases amount to torture.

The 82-page report, “Dignity Debased: Forced Anal Examinations in Homosexuality Prosecutions,” is based on interviews with 32 men and transgender women who underwent forced anal examinations in Cameroon, Egypt, Kenya, Lebanon, Tunisia,Turkmenistan, Uganda, and Zambia. The examinations, which have the purported objective of finding “proof” of homosexual conduct, often involve doctors or other medical personnel forcibly inserting their fingers, and sometimes other objects, into the anus of the accused. Victims of forced anal testing told Human Rights Watch that they found the exams painful and degrading; some experienced them as a form of sexual violence.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Turkey: Workers Behind Bars as Airport Opens

Monday 29 October 2018

Length 01:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Sudan: Soldiers Attack Civilians in Western Region

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 1 0 0 0
Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Friday 19 October 2018

Length 01:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: No Action to Enforce New Waste Law

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Residents Blocked From Returning

Monday 15 October 2018

Length 1:09

1 0 0 0 3 0
Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 2 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Eritrea: Diplomacy Changes, but Political Prisoners Remain

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0