Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Iraq: Officials Dispose of Potential War Crime Evidence

No Results From Promised Investigations

Friday 20 April 2018

WARNING: This story contains disturbing images. Viewer discretion is advised.

(Erbil, April 20, 2018) – An incident on March 29, 2018, in which government workers removed about 80 bodies from a damaged house, raised suspicions of a cover-up of killings of possible Islamic State (also known as ISIS) suspects, Human Rights Watch said today. Human Rights Watch observed the episode. Days later, the house had been burned.

Iraqi authorities at the site said they were the remains of ISIS suspects. Heath Ministry and Interior Intelligence Ministry officials at the site said they were not permitted to share information about where the bodies were taken. There has been no indication that the deaths are being investigated.

PHOTOS (2)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Libya: Displaced Population Can’t Go Home

Thursday 24 January 2019

Length 02:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan: Garment Workers’ Rights at Risk

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Libya: Nightmarish Detention for Migrants, Asylum Seekers

Monday 21 January 2019

Length 01:36

1 0 0 5 0 0
World Report 2019: Reversing Autocrats’ Attacks on Rights

Thursday 17 January 2019

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Suspected Plotters Tortured

Wednesday 09 January 2019

Length 01:50

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
Greece: Violent Pushbacks at Turkey Border

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 00:50

1 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Harassment of Environmental Activists

Monday 17 December 2018

Length 03:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Groups Killing Afro-Colombians

Thursday 13 December 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: Barriers to Free Movement for Older People

Thursday 29 November 2018

Length 01:10

2 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Israel: Airbnb to End Settlement Rentals

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

3 0 4 0 0 0
Venezuela: Numbers Highlight Health Crisis

Thursday 15 November 2018

0 0 26 0 1 0