Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

José Miguel Vivanco Reacts to Revelations of Surveillance from Colombia's Top Commander

Colombian General from 'False Positives' Report Embroiled in Corruption, Surveillance Scandal

Monday 23 April 2018

On April 14, the Colombian magazine Semana ran a damning story about a group of senior military officers who it said were involved in corruption and illicit surveillance activities. It indicated that General Juan Pablo Rodríguez Barragán, the country’s then-top commander and now ambassador to South Korea, did not like Human Rights Watch's insistence on justice for killings of innocent people by the army during its long battle against rebel groups.

So in 2017, Semana said, the general apparently asked other officers to establish cyber surveillance and monitoring on José Miguel Vivanco, Human Rights Watch's Americas Director, and discussed ways to censor his tweets.

 

 

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Brazil: Pesticide Poisonings in Rural Areas

Friday 20 July 2018

Length 1:00

1 0 10 0 0 0
Cameroon: Killings, Destruction in Anglophone Regions

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 3:28

3 0 12 4 0 0
Greece: Asylum-Seeking Children Deprived of School

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 2:36

2 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: New Video on Cruel ‘Offshore Processing’ Policy

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 01:53

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Victims Deserve Justice

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 05:10

2 0 0 5 0 0
International Criminal Court’s 20th Anniversary

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Length 3:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
France: Child Migrants Left Adrift in Paris

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 05:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0