Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Ghana: Discrimination, Violence against LGBT People

Some Reforms, but Colonial-Era Law Should be Repealed

Monday 08 January 2018

(Accra, January 8, 2018) – Ghanaians who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) suffer widespread discrimination and abuse both in public and in family settings. While some Ghanaian officials have publicly called for an end to violence based on sexual orientation and gender identity, the government has yet to repeal a colonial-era law that criminalizes same-sex activity.

The 72-page report, “‘No Choice but to Deny Who I Am’: Violence and Discrimination against LGBT People in Ghana,” shows how retention of section 104(1)(b) of the Criminal Offences Act, 1960, prohibiting and punishing “unnatural carnal knowledge,” and failure to actively address violence and discrimination, relegate LGBT Ghanaians to effective second-class citizenship. Police officials and the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ) have taken some steps to protect LGBT people. But they are still frequent victims of physical violence and psychological abuse, extortion, and discrimination in many aspects of their daily life.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
China: Massive Crackdown in Muslim Region

Monday 10 September 2018

Length 03:33

3 0 10 0 0 0
India: Supreme Court Strikes Down Sodomy Law

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 01:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Refugee Crisis Requires Concerted Regional Response

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 2:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Fails on its Promises to Curtail Violations

Friday 24 August 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Chilling Accounts of Torture, Deaths

Sunday 19 August 2018

0 0 0 4 0 0
Egypt: No Justice For Rab’a Victims 5 Years On

Monday 13 August 2018

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Endure Floods, Landslides

Sunday 05 August 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Landmark Proposals on Gender Bias, Privacy

Thursday 26 July 2018

Length 1:23

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0