Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Venezuela: Video Footage Exposes Brutal Repression

Violent Response to Widespread Protests

Saturday 22 July 2017

(New York, July 24, 2017) – Human Rights Watch issued a multimedia report today that shows the scale and brutality of violent repression of protests by Venezuelan security forces in recent months.

Since early April 2017, tens of thousands of Venezuelans have taken to the streets to protest the government’s growing authoritarianism. The government has responded with a brutal crackdown. Security forces have shot demonstrators at point-blank range with riot-control munitions, run over demonstrators with an armored vehicle, brutally beaten people who offered no resistance, and broken into homes of suspected opponents. The security forces have also arbitrarily arrested hundreds of demonstrators, bystanders, and critics and prosecuted them in military courts.

 

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
Tunisia: Privacy Threatened by ‘Homosexuality’ Arrests

Thursday 08 November 2018

Length 01:21

1 0 8 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Turkey: Workers Behind Bars as Airport Opens

Monday 29 October 2018

Length 01:52

1 0 0 0 0 0
Malawi: Arrests, Violence against LGBT People

Friday 26 October 2018

Length 03:09

3 0 1 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
South Sudan: Soldiers Attack Civilians in Western Region

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 1 0 0 0
Palestine: Authorities Crush Dissent

Tuesday 23 October 2018

Length 05:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Ensure Justice for Abuses in Jail Ogaden

Friday 19 October 2018

Length 01:33

1 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: No Action to Enforce New Waste Law

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Residents Blocked From Returning

Monday 15 October 2018

Length 1:09

1 0 0 0 3 0
Uganda: No Justice for 2016 Kasese Massacre by Security Forces

Wednesday 10 October 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 2 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Eritrea: Diplomacy Changes, but Political Prisoners Remain

Thursday 04 October 2018

Length 02:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0