Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Tanzania: Migrant Domestic Workers in Oman, UAE Abused

Women Describe Beatings, Exploitation, Harassment

Tuesday 14 November 2017

(Dar es Salaam, November 14, 2017) – Tanzanian domestic workers in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) face excessive working hours, unpaid salaries, and physical and sexual abuse, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Abusive visa-sponsorship rules in those countries and gaps in Tanzania’s policies leave the women exposed to exploitation. 

The 100-page report, “‘Working Like a Robot’: Abuse of Tanzanian Domestic Workers in Oman and the United Arab Emirates,” documents how the Tanzanian, Omani, and UAE governments fail to protect Tanzanian migrant domestic workers. Oman and the UAE’s kafala – visa-sponsorship – rules tie workers to their employers, and the lack of labor law protections leaves workers exposed to a wide range of abuse. Gaps in Tanzania’s laws and policies on recruitment and migration leave Tanzanian women exposed at the outset to abuse and fail to provide adequate assistance for exploited workers.

PHOTOS (7)

MORE WOMEN'S RIGHTS
ALL STORIES

Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Sexual Violence Marred Elections

Thursday 14 December 2017

Length 01:05

2 0 5 0 0 0
Burma: Widespread Rape of Rohingya Women, Girls

Thursday 16 November 2017

Length 4:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
Tanzania: Migrant Domestic Workers in Oman, UAE Abused

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Length 4:00

3 0 7 0 0 0
Zambia: Commercial Farms Displace Rural Communities

Wednesday 25 October 2017

Length 4:33

3 0 14 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Girls Struggle for an Education

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Length 08:34

3 0 7 0 0 0
Florida: Hot Spot for Child Marriage?

Monday 09 October 2017

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: Sexual Violence as Weapon of War

Thursday 05 October 2017

Length 14:35

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Zika Epidemic Exposes Rights Problems

Thursday 13 July 2017

Length 7:01

3 0 5 0 0 0