Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: Detention Hazardous to Immigrants’ Health

More Preventable Deaths Likely Under Trump Policies

Monday 08 May 2017

(Washington, DC, May 8, 2017) – New evidence has emerged of dangerously subpar medical care in United States immigration detention at a time when the Trump administration is seeking to increase its use, Human Rights Watch and Community Initiatives for Visiting Immigrants in Confinement (CIVIC), a group seeking to end immigration detention, said in a report released today.

The 103-page report, “Systemic Indifference: Dangerous & Substandard Medical Care in Immigration Detention,” reveals systemic failures, such as unreasonable delays in care and unqualified medical staff, that are likely to expose a record number of people to dangerous conditions under President Donald Trump’s ramped-up deportation and detention plans.

MORE UNITED STATES
ALL STORIES

US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
US: Private Probation Harming the Poor

Tuesday 20 February 2018

Length 05:41

2 0 0 0 0 0
United States: Oversedation in Nursing Homes

Monday 05 February 2018

Length 6:38

4 0 12 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Florida Should Expand Syringe Exchange Statewide

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Length 5:50

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Devastating Impact of Trump’s Immigration Policy

Tuesday 05 December 2017

Length 6:16

3 0 4 0 0 0
Afghanistan: ICC Prosecutor Asks to Open Inquiry

Monday 20 November 2017

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
#ImmigrantsAreUS: Stop Trump’s Immigration Agenda

Tuesday 07 November 2017

Length 3:24

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Doctors Need Intersex Care Standards

Thursday 26 October 2017

Length 16:47

3 0 1 0 0 0
Florida: Hot Spot for Child Marriage?

Monday 09 October 2017

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Harmful Surgery on Intersex Children

Tuesday 25 July 2017

Length 6:00

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Detention Hazardous to Immigrants’ Health

Monday 08 May 2017

Length 02:58

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Policy Failures Drive Preventable Overdose Deaths

Thursday 27 April 2017

Length 8:48

3 0 0 0 0 0