Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

DR Congo: Security Forces Fire on Catholic Churchgoers

End Crackdown, Allow Religious Services, Peaceful Protests

Friday 19 January 2018

(Kinshasa, January 19, 2018) – Security forces in the Democratic Republic of Congo used excessive force, including teargas and live ammunition, against peaceful protesters at Catholic churches in the capital, Kinshasa, and other cities on December 31, 2017, Human Rights Watch said today. When confronted by the heavily armed police and soldiers, some protesters, dressed in white, sang hymns or knelt on the ground. At least eight people were killed and dozens injured, including at least 27 with gunshot wounds, but the actual number killed and wounded may be much higher.

The shooting, beating, and arbitrary arrests of peaceful churchgoers by Congolese security forces violated the rights to freedom of worship, expression, and peaceful assembly, Human Rights Watch said. Those responsible for the unlawful use of deadly force should be prosecuted. With more protests planned, the authorities should lift the ban on demonstrations and allow people to worship without interference.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Addressing the human rights and humanitarian crisis

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:32

1 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
China: Massive Crackdown in Muslim Region

Monday 10 September 2018

Length 03:33

3 0 10 0 0 0
India: Supreme Court Strikes Down Sodomy Law

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 01:43

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: Refugee Crisis Requires Concerted Regional Response

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 2:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Fails on its Promises to Curtail Violations

Friday 24 August 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Chilling Accounts of Torture, Deaths

Sunday 19 August 2018

0 0 0 4 0 0
Egypt: No Justice For Rab’a Victims 5 Years On

Monday 13 August 2018

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Endure Floods, Landslides

Sunday 05 August 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Landmark Proposals on Gender Bias, Privacy

Thursday 26 July 2018

Length 1:23

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0