Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

DR Congo: Security Forces Fire on Catholic Churchgoers

End Crackdown, Allow Religious Services, Peaceful Protests

Friday 19 January 2018

(Kinshasa, January 19, 2018) – Security forces in the Democratic Republic of Congo used excessive force, including teargas and live ammunition, against peaceful protesters at Catholic churches in the capital, Kinshasa, and other cities on December 31, 2017, Human Rights Watch said today. When confronted by the heavily armed police and soldiers, some protesters, dressed in white, sang hymns or knelt on the ground. At least eight people were killed and dozens injured, including at least 27 with gunshot wounds, but the actual number killed and wounded may be much higher.

The shooting, beating, and arbitrary arrests of peaceful churchgoers by Congolese security forces violated the rights to freedom of worship, expression, and peaceful assembly, Human Rights Watch said. Those responsible for the unlawful use of deadly force should be prosecuted. With more protests planned, the authorities should lift the ban on demonstrations and allow people to worship without interference.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Brazil: Pesticide Poisonings in Rural Areas

Friday 20 July 2018

Length 1:00

1 0 10 0 0 0
Cameroon: Killings, Destruction in Anglophone Regions

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 3:28

3 0 12 4 0 0
Greece: Asylum-Seeking Children Deprived of School

Wednesday 18 July 2018

Length 2:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 2:36

2 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: New Video on Cruel ‘Offshore Processing’ Policy

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 01:53

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Victims Deserve Justice

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 05:10

2 0 0 5 0 0
International Criminal Court’s 20th Anniversary

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Length 3:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
France: Child Migrants Left Adrift in Paris

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 05:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0