Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

The ‘Killer Robots’ Accountability Gap

Obstacles to Legal Responsibility Show Need for Ban

Thursday 09 April 2015


(Geneva, April 9, 2015) – Programmers, manufacturers, and military personnel could all escape liability for unlawful deaths and injuries caused by fully autonomous weapons, or "killer robots," Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The report was issued in advance of a multilateral meeting on the weapons at the United Nations in Geneva.The 38-page report, "Mind the Gap: The Lack of Accountability for Killer Robots," details significant hurdles to assigning personal accountability for the actions of fully autonomous weapons under both criminal and civil law. It also elaborates on the consequences of failing to assign legal responsibility. The report is jointly published by Human Rights Watch and Harvard Law School's International Human Rights Clinic. 

GRAPHICS (1)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0
Cameroon: New Attacks on Civilians By Troops, Separatists

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 01:55

1 0 0 0 2 0
US: Massachusetts Should End Child Marriage

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 02:10

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Women, Girls Trafficked as ‘Brides’ to China

Wednesday 20 March 2019

Length 08:09

3 0 0 0 0 0
Japan: Compelled Sterilization of Transgender People

Tuesday 19 March 2019

Length 04:48

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kazakhstan: Education Barriers for Children with Disabilities

Thursday 14 March 2019

Length 04:47

3 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Excessive Force Used Against Protesters

Monday 11 March 2019

Length 03:22

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: ISIS Child Suspects Arbitrarily Arrested, Tortured

Wednesday 06 March 2019

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Censorship of Younger Generation’s Music

Thursday 28 February 2019

Length 1:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Army Commanders Linked to Killings

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Length 00:43

1 0 0 0 0 0
Rwanda: A Year On, No Justice for Refugee Killings

Saturday 23 February 2019

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Police Killed, ‘Disappeared’ 34 Youth

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Length 02:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: End Ankara Ban on LGBTI Events

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Length 02:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Scant Help to Bring Home ISIS Members’ Children


Monday 11 February 2019

Length 02:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Video Footage Shows Extreme Violence, Abuse

Sunday 10 February 2019

Length 1:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Mass Sexual Harassment, Caught on Tape

Friday 08 February 2019

Length 00:52

1 0 0 0 0 0