Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

World Bank Group: Project Critics Threatened, Harassed, Jailed

Prevent, Respond to Reprisals

Monday 22 June 2015


Embargoed for Release
Not for Publication Until:
10:00 in Washington, DC, Monday, June 22, 2015
14:00 GMT Monday, June 22, 2015

(Washington, DC, June 22, 2015) The World Bank Group has done little to prevent or dissuade governments from intimidating critics of the projects it funds, or monitor for reprisals, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today.

The 144-page report, "At Your Own Risk: Reprisals against Critics of World Bank Group Projects," details how governments and powerful companies have threatened, intimidated, and misused criminal laws against outspoken community members who stand to be displaced or otherwise allegedly harmed by projects financed by the World Bank and its private sector lending arm, the International Finance Corporation (IFC). The World Bank and IFC have failed to take adequate steps to help create a safe environment in which people can express concern or criticism about projects funded by the Bank Group without risk of reprisal, Human Rights Watch found.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Turkey: Gezi Protests Trial to Begin

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 01:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: “Money Slipped through My Fingers Like Water”

Friday 14 June 2019

Length 00:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Policies Fuel Teen Pregnancy

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 9:05

1 0 17 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
Honduras: Abortion Ban’s Dire Consequences

Thursday 06 June 2019

0 0 3 2 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Serious Abuses, War Crimes in North Sinai

Tuesday 28 May 2019

Length 3:49

2 0 5 2 0 0
European Elections 2019

Monday 06 May 2019

Length 01:30

10 0 0 0 0 0
China: How Mass Surveillance Works in Xinjiang

Wednesday 01 May 2019

Length 4:41

10 0 0 0 0 0
AU: Uphold Rights Body’s Independence

Friday 26 April 2019

Length 01:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0
Cameroon: New Attacks on Civilians By Troops, Separatists

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 01:55

1 0 0 0 2 0