Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Groundbreaking Mercury Treaty Takes Effect

Prompt Action Needed to Protect People, Environment from Toxic Substance

Wednesday 16 August 2017

(Geneva) – The United Nations Minamata Convention on Mercury, which went into effect on August 16, 2017, could benefit millions of people affected by toxic mercury, Human Rights Watch said today. Under the treaty, governments are obligated to protect their citizens from the harmful effects of mercury and to put in place controls in polluting industries, such as artisanal and small-scale gold mining and coal-fired power plants.

Mercury, a shiny liquid metal, attacks the central nervous system, can result in lifelong disability, and is very harmful to children. It can be lethal in higher doses.

Human Rights Watch has done extensive research and multimedia work on the use of mercury and child labor in small-scale gold mining. 

For access to stills and footage on this subject, please see: 

Philippines: Children Risk Death to Dig and Dive For Gold

Ghana: Child Labor Fuels Gold Supply Chain

Tanzania: Hazardous Life of Child Gold Miners

Ghana: Mine Accident Highlights Risk to Children

 

 

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Myanmar: Farmers Seek Return of Seized Land

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 2:36

2 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: New Video on Cruel ‘Offshore Processing’ Policy

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 01:53

2 0 0 0 0 0
ICC: Victims Deserve Justice

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Length 05:10

2 0 0 5 0 0
International Criminal Court’s 20th Anniversary

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Length 3:04

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ethiopia: Torture in Somali Region Prison

Wednesday 04 July 2018

Length 04:01

3 0 9 0 0 0
France: Child Migrants Left Adrift in Paris

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 05:38

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Indonesia: Anti-LGBT Crackdown Fuels Health Crisis

Sunday 01 July 2018

Length 03:09

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
Court Ruling Upholds Right of Same-Sex Couple to Live in Romania

Thursday 07 June 2018

Length 2:33

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Landslides Threaten Rohingya Shelters

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 01:57

2 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: People With Disabilities Confined in Terrible Conditions

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 06:52

4 0 10 0 0 0
Egypt: Army Intensifies Sinai Home Demolitions

Tuesday 22 May 2018

0 0 6 0 0 0