Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Protecting Schools from Military Use

Law, Policy, and Military Doctrine

Monday 20 March 2017


Since 2007, the military use of schools or universities has been documented in at least 29 countries with armed conflict or insecurity, according to the Global Coalition to Protect Education from Attack, of which Human Rights Watch is a member. That number represents the majority of countries experiencing armed conflict during the past decade. Examples can be found in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. The military use of schools is therefore a global problem, needing international attention and response.Schools and universities have been taken over either partially or entirely to be converted into military bases and barracks; used as detention and interrogation facilities; for training fighters; and to store or hide weapons and ammunition.

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0
Cameroon: New Attacks on Civilians By Troops, Separatists

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 01:55

1 0 0 0 2 0
US: Massachusetts Should End Child Marriage

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 02:10

2 0 0 0 0 0
Myanmar: Women, Girls Trafficked as ‘Brides’ to China

Wednesday 20 March 2019

Length 08:09

3 0 0 0 0 0
Japan: Compelled Sterilization of Transgender People

Tuesday 19 March 2019

Length 04:48

3 0 0 0 0 0
Kazakhstan: Education Barriers for Children with Disabilities

Thursday 14 March 2019

Length 04:47

3 0 0 0 0 0
Zimbabwe: Excessive Force Used Against Protesters

Monday 11 March 2019

Length 03:22

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: ISIS Child Suspects Arbitrarily Arrested, Tortured

Wednesday 06 March 2019

Length 03:32

2 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Censorship of Younger Generation’s Music

Thursday 28 February 2019

Length 1:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Colombia: New Army Commanders Linked to Killings

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Length 00:43

1 0 0 0 0 0
Rwanda: A Year On, No Justice for Refugee Killings

Saturday 23 February 2019

Length 01:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
DR Congo: Police Killed, ‘Disappeared’ 34 Youth

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Length 02:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: End Ankara Ban on LGBTI Events

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Length 02:15

2 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Scant Help to Bring Home ISIS Members’ Children


Monday 11 February 2019

Length 02:56

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Video Footage Shows Extreme Violence, Abuse

Sunday 10 February 2019

Length 1:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Mass Sexual Harassment, Caught on Tape

Friday 08 February 2019

Length 00:52

1 0 0 0 0 0