Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Uzbekistan: A Year into New Presidency, Cautious Hope for Change

Government Needs to Secure Steps Taken to Support Rights

Thursday 26 October 2017


(Bishkek, October 26, 2017) – The Uzbek government during President Shavkat Mirziyoyev's first year in office has taken some positive steps to improve the human rights situation, but should now transform them into institutional change and sustainable improvements, Human Rights Watch said today. The findings are based on Human Rights Watch's first in-country research in seven years, including meetings and interviews with government officials, civil society activists, former political prisoners, and ordinary citizens.

Human Rights Watch also issued a video on recent developments in Uzbekistan. It includes comments by Muhammed Bekjanov, a former political prisoner who was one of the world's longest-held journalists, imprisoned for nearly 18 years, until his release in February 2017. 

PHOTOS (4)

MORE LATEST NEWS
ALL STORIES

Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Turkey: Gezi Protests Trial to Begin

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 01:01

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nicaragua: Targeted Sanctions, Justice Key to Curb Abuses

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guinea: Draconian Forced Evictions

Tuesday 18 June 2019

Length 01:25

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ukraine: “Money Slipped through My Fingers Like Water”

Friday 14 June 2019

Length 00:47

2 0 0 0 0 0
Dominican Republic: Policies Fuel Teen Pregnancy

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 9:05

1 0 17 0 0 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Senegal: Unchecked Abuses in Quranic Schools

Tuesday 11 June 2019

0 0 9 0 0 0
Honduras: Abortion Ban’s Dire Consequences

Thursday 06 June 2019

0 0 3 2 0 0
South Sudan: Government Forces Abusing Civilians

Tuesday 04 June 2019

Length 02:07

2 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Serious Abuses, War Crimes in North Sinai

Tuesday 28 May 2019

Length 3:49

2 0 5 2 0 0
European Elections 2019

Monday 06 May 2019

Length 01:30

10 0 0 0 0 0
China: How Mass Surveillance Works in Xinjiang

Wednesday 01 May 2019

Length 4:41

10 0 0 0 0 0
AU: Uphold Rights Body’s Independence

Friday 26 April 2019

Length 01:12

1 0 0 0 0 0
South Africa: Activists in Mining Areas Harassed

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Length 05:33

3 0 5 0 0 0
Equatorial Guinea: UN Review Should Highlight Abuses

Tuesday 09 April 2019

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0