Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: How Abusive, Biased Policing Destroys Lives

Initial Reforms are a Start, But Fundamental Change Needed

Thursday 12 September 2019


(Tulsa, Oklahoma, September 12, 2019) – Abusive policing in Tulsa, Oklahoma that targets black people and poor people, diminishes the quality of life in all communities, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Human Rights Watch released the report on the eve of the third anniversary of the killing of Terence Crutcher, an unarmed black man. That killing led Human Rights Watch to investigate everyday police interactions in Tulsa as a window into the larger human rights problems with policing throughout the United States.

The 216-page report, “‘Get on the Ground!’: Policing, Poverty, and Racial Inequality in Tulsa, Oklahoma,” details how policing affects Tulsa, particularly in the segregated and largely impoverished North Tulsa area. Human Rights Watch found that black people are subjected to physical force, including tasers, police dog bites, pepper spray, punches, and kicks, at a rate 2.7 times that of white people. Some neighborhoods with larger populations of black people and poor people experienced police stops more than 10 times the rate of predominantly white and wealthier neighborhoods. Arrests and citations lead to staggering accumulations of court fees, fines, and costs, often for very minor offenses, that trap poor people in a cycle of debt and further arrests for failing to pay.

MORE UNITED STATES
ALL STORIES

US: How Abusive, Biased Policing Destroys Lives

Thursday 12 September 2019

Length 04:16

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Meatpacking Workers' Rights Under Threat

Wednesday 04 September 2019

Length 01:03

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Massachusetts Should End Child Marriage

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Length 02:10

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Protect Right to Asylum for Domestic Violence

Wednesday 23 January 2019

Length 04:11

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Fears of Prescribing Hurt Chronic Pain Patients

Tuesday 18 December 2018

Length 05:20

3 0 4 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Florida: HIV Care Lacking for Transgender Women

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Length 04:19

3 0 0 0 0 0
Midterm Elections 2018

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 00:37

6 0 0 0 0 0
US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Deported Parents’ Agonizing Wait

Thursday 06 September 2018

Length 02:17

2 0 0 0 0 0
US: Bill Advances Bias in Adoption, Foster Care

Wednesday 25 July 2018

Length 05:21

3 0 0 0 0 0
US: Undocumented Crime Fighters Deserve Protection

Tuesday 03 July 2018

Length 03:05

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
US: Poor Medical Care, Deaths, in Immigrant Detention

Thursday 21 June 2018

Length 02:02

2 0 0 0 0 0
Child Detention Tent City Image Illustrates Crisis

Wednesday 20 June 2018

0 0 2 0 0 0