Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

EU, US Should Stop Security Support Until Abuse Ends

Monday 23 March 2020


(Washington, DC, March 23, 2020) – Egyptian police, National Security Agency, and military officials arbitrarily arrested, forcibly disappeared, and tortured children as young as 12 while prosecutors and judges turned a blind eye, Human Rights Watch and the rights group Belady: An Island For Humanity said in a report released today.

The report, “‘No One Cared He Was A Child’: Egyptian Security Forces’ Abuse of Children in Detention,” documents abuses against 20 children between the ages of 12 and 17 when they were arrested.

Egypt’s allies, especially the United States as well as France and other European Union countries, should halt support to Egyptian security forces until Egypt takes measurable steps to end the abuses and hold accountable those responsible, the groups said.

PHOTOS (4)

MORE MIDDLE EAST/N. AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Egypt: Security Forces Disappear, Torture Children

Monday 23 March 2020

Length 02:30

1 0 4 0 0 0
Syria: Address Fate of Missing Victims of ISIS

Tuesday 11 February 2020

Length 03:13

2 0 0 0 0 0
Winter Looms for Lebanon’s Syrian Refugees

Friday 20 December 2019

Length 01:13

1 0 0 0 0 0
Israel/West Bank: Grant Palestinians Equal Rights

Tuesday 17 December 2019

Length 03:36

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Defamation Laws Used to Silence Critics

Friday 15 November 2019

Length 02:34

2 0 0 0 0 0
Algeria: Escalating Repression of Protesters

Thursday 14 November 2019

Length 01:41

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Teargas Cartridges Killing Protesters

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:48

1 0 0 0 0 0
UAE: Political Detainees Languish Behind Bars

Tuesday 12 November 2019

Length 00:59

1 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: Change Comes with Punishing Cost

Monday 04 November 2019

Length 01:03

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: Sanctions Threatening Health

Tuesday 29 October 2019

Length 01:18

2 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: End Systemic Discrimination Against Transgender Women

Tuesday 03 September 2019

Length 02:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Mashrou’ Leila is Lebanon’s Latest Free Speech Victim

Friday 26 July 2019

Length 00:54

1 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Lebanon: Syrian Refugee Shelters Demolished

Friday 12 July 2019

Length 01:35

2 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Government Co-Opting Recovery Efforts

Friday 28 June 2019

Length 02:06

2 0 0 0 0 0
Facing the Myths

Monday 24 June 2019

Length 11:00

1 0 0 0 0 0