Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Arbitrary Detention, Torture, Enforced Disappearance Go Unpunished

Tuesday 25 September 2018

(Beirut, September 25, 2018) – The Houthi armed group in Yemen has frequently taken hostages and committed other serious abuses against people in their custody, Human Rights Watch said today. Houthi officials should stop taking hostages, free everyone arbitrarily detained, end torture and enforced disappearances, and punish those responsible for abuses. Human Rights Watch documented 16 cases in which Houthi authorities held people unlawfully, in large part to extort money from relatives or to exchange them for people held by opposing forces. Hostage-taking is a serious violation of the laws of war and a war crime. The United Nations Human Rights Council should renew the mandate of the Group of Eminent Experts on Yemen, which has a mandate to investigate and identify those responsible for abuses.

PHOTOS (2)

MORE MIDDLE EAST/N. AFRICA
ALL STORIES

Yemen: Houthi Hostage-Taking

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Length 00:55

1 0 2 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Yemen: Coalition Fails on its Promises to Curtail Violations

Friday 24 August 2018

Length 01:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iraq: Chilling Accounts of Torture, Deaths

Sunday 19 August 2018

0 0 0 4 0 0
Egypt: No Justice For Rab’a Victims 5 Years On

Monday 13 August 2018

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Tunisia: Landmark Proposals on Gender Bias, Privacy

Thursday 26 July 2018

Length 1:23

1 0 0 0 0 0
Syria: Mass Graves in Former ISIS Areas

Monday 02 July 2018

Length 02:58

2 0 1 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
Tunisia: Lax Enforcement of Right to Lawyer

Friday 01 June 2018

Length 02:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Egypt: Army Intensifies Sinai Home Demolitions

Tuesday 22 May 2018

0 0 6 0 0 0
Israel Orders Human Rights Watch Official Deported

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Length 02:11

1 0 0 0 0 0
Lebanon: Mass Evictions of Syrian Refugees

Friday 20 April 2018

0 0 4 0 0 0
Iraq: Officials Dispose of Potential War Crime Evidence

Friday 20 April 2018

Length 1:30

2 0 2 0 0 0
At 31, My First Glimpse of Life Outside Gaza

Monday 19 March 2018

Length 02:19

2 0 0 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: Scant Justice for Pakistanis

Wednesday 07 March 2018

Length 3:26

3 0 0 0 0 0