Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Criminal Penalties Violate Rights

Monday 19 November 2018

(Santo Domingo, November 19, 2018) – The Dominican Republic’s total ban on abortion threatens women's health and lives and violates their rights, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. Abortion is illegal in the Dominican Republic in all circumstances, even when a pregnancy is life-threatening, unviable, or the result of rape. The 78-page report, “‘It’s Your Decision, It’s Your Life’: The Total Criminalization of Abortion in the Dominican Republic,” documents that women and girls facing unwanted pregnancies have clandestine abortions, often at great risk to their health and lives. Many experience health complications from unsafe abortions, and some die. Some women and girls face abuse, neglect, or mistreatment by healthcare providers. The ban does not stop abortion but drives it underground and makes it less safe. As a starting place toward meeting the country’s human rights obligations, Congress should decriminalize abortion in three circumstances, Human Rights Watch said.

PHOTOS (4)

MORE WOMEN'S RIGHTS
ALL STORIES

Dominican Republic: Abortion Ban Endangers Health

Monday 19 November 2018

Length 4:44

2 0 4 0 0 0
Pakistan: Girls Deprived of Education

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Length 06:52

2 0 6 0 0 0
North Korea: Sexual Violence Against Women by Officials

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Length 04:38

3 0 12 0 0 0
Russia: Unaddressed Domestic Violence Puts Women at Risk

Thursday 25 October 2018

Length 3:54

2 0 0 0 0 0
Senegal: Teen Girls Sexually Exploited, Harassed in Schools

Thursday 18 October 2018

Length 00:51

1 0 2 0 0 0
Lebanon: Discriminatory Nationality Law

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 03:14

1 0 0 0 0 0
US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Sexual Violence Marred Elections

Thursday 14 December 2017

Length 01:05

2 0 5 0 0 0
Burma: Widespread Rape of Rohingya Women, Girls

Thursday 16 November 2017

Length 4:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
Tanzania: Migrant Domestic Workers in Oman, UAE Abused

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Length 4:00

3 0 7 0 0 0
Zambia: Commercial Farms Displace Rural Communities

Wednesday 25 October 2017

Length 4:33

3 0 14 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Girls Struggle for an Education

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Length 08:34

3 0 7 0 0 0
Florida: Hot Spot for Child Marriage?

Monday 09 October 2017

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: Sexual Violence as Weapon of War

Thursday 05 October 2017

Length 14:35

2 0 8 0 0 0