Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

African Governments Should Ensure Right to Education

Thursday 14 June 2018

(Nairobi, June 14, 2018) – Tens of thousands of pregnant girls and adolescent mothers are banned or discouraged from attending school across Africa, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today, ahead of the Day of the African Child on June 16, 2018.

PHOTOS (9)

MORE WOMEN'S RIGHTS
ALL STORIES

Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Sexual Violence Marred Elections

Thursday 14 December 2017

Length 01:05

2 0 5 0 0 0
Burma: Widespread Rape of Rohingya Women, Girls

Thursday 16 November 2017

Length 4:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
Tanzania: Migrant Domestic Workers in Oman, UAE Abused

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Length 4:00

3 0 7 0 0 0
Zambia: Commercial Farms Displace Rural Communities

Wednesday 25 October 2017

Length 4:33

3 0 14 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Girls Struggle for an Education

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Length 08:34

3 0 7 0 0 0
Florida: Hot Spot for Child Marriage?

Monday 09 October 2017

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: Sexual Violence as Weapon of War

Thursday 05 October 2017

Length 14:35

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Zika Epidemic Exposes Rights Problems

Thursday 13 July 2017

Length 7:01

3 0 5 0 0 0
Iran: Women Face Bias in the Workplace

Thursday 25 May 2017

Length 2:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Obstruction of Aid Endangers Women’s Lives

Tuesday 23 May 2017

Length 1:52

2 0 0 0 0 0
Sanitation as a Global Right

Wednesday 19 April 2017

0 0 9 0 0 0
Governments Step Up for Reproductive Rights

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Length 00:49

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0
Nepal: Child Marriage Threatening Girls’ Safety and Rights

Thursday 08 September 2016

Length 07:02

2 0 10 0 0 0
Saudi Arabia: Male Guardianship Boxes Women In

Sunday 17 July 2016

Length 00:39

3 0 0 0 0 0