Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Even Short Stays in Jail Can Cause Permanent Harm to Families

Wednesday 26 September 2018

(Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, September 26, 2018) — Mothers in jail are being torn from their families and losing contact with their children even before they have been convicted of a crime, Human Rights Watch and the American Civil Liberties Union said in a joint report released today.

The 137-page report, “You Miss So Much When You’re Gone”: The Lasting Harm of Jailing Mothers Before Trial in Oklahoma,” finds that jailing mothers even for short periods of time can result in overwhelming debt and loss of child custody. Based on more than 160 interviews with jailed and formerly jailed mothers, substitute caregivers, children, attorneys, service providers, child welfare employees, and advocates, this joint report by Human Rights Watch and the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) documents the harms experienced by women with minor children jailed pretrial in Oklahoma – which incarcerates more women per capita than any other state.

MORE WOMEN'S RIGHTS
ALL STORIES

US: Devastating Impact of Jailing Mothers

Wednesday 26 September 2018

Length 04:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Mauritania: Rape Survivors at Risk

Wednesday 05 September 2018

Length 03:19

9 0 0 0 0 0
Brazil: Decriminalize Abortion

Tuesday 31 July 2018

Length 02:45

2 0 0 0 0 0
Africa: Pregnant Girls, Young Mothers Barred from School

Thursday 14 June 2018

Length 03:21

2 0 9 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya: Sexual Violence Marred Elections

Thursday 14 December 2017

Length 01:05

2 0 5 0 0 0
Burma: Widespread Rape of Rohingya Women, Girls

Thursday 16 November 2017

Length 4:39

3 0 0 0 0 0
Tanzania: Migrant Domestic Workers in Oman, UAE Abused

Tuesday 14 November 2017

Length 4:00

3 0 7 0 0 0
Zambia: Commercial Farms Displace Rural Communities

Wednesday 25 October 2017

Length 4:33

3 0 14 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Girls Struggle for an Education

Tuesday 17 October 2017

Length 08:34

3 0 7 0 0 0
Florida: Hot Spot for Child Marriage?

Monday 09 October 2017

Length 01:00

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: Sexual Violence as Weapon of War

Thursday 05 October 2017

Length 14:35

2 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: Zika Epidemic Exposes Rights Problems

Thursday 13 July 2017

Length 7:01

3 0 5 0 0 0
Iran: Women Face Bias in the Workplace

Thursday 25 May 2017

Length 2:19

1 0 0 0 0 0
Sudan: Obstruction of Aid Endangers Women’s Lives

Tuesday 23 May 2017

Length 1:52

2 0 0 0 0 0
Sanitation as a Global Right

Wednesday 19 April 2017

0 0 9 0 0 0
Governments Step Up for Reproductive Rights

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Length 00:49

2 0 0 0 0 0
World Report 2017: Demagogues Threaten Human Rights

Thursday 12 January 2017

Length 02:26

1 0 0 0 0 0