Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Over 500 People Killed in Ethnic Attacks

Thursday 19 December 2019


(Kinshasa, December 19, 2019) – Authorities in the Democratic Republic of Congo have not brought to justice those responsible for the massacres of ethnic Banunu in Yumbi territory one year ago, Human Rights Watch said today.

On December 16 and December 17, 2018, hundreds of ethnic Batende assailants killed at least 535 people and wounded 111 more, though the actual death toll is most likely much higher. The assailants also damaged, destroyed, and pillaged more than 1,500 houses as well as health centers, schools, and polling places, according to witnesses, the United Nations, and the Congolese government.

MORE HEALTH AND HUMAN RIGHTS
ALL STORIES

DR Congo: No Justice for 2018 Yumbi Massacres

Thursday 19 December 2019

Length 02:40

2 0 0 0 0 0
Australia: Older People in Aged Care Drugged Up

Tuesday 15 October 2019

Length 00:00

3 0 0 0 0 0
Afghanistan: Little Help for Conflict-Linked Trauma

Monday 07 October 2019

Length 01:18

1 0 0 9 0 0
Georgia: Worker Rights, Safety at Risk

Thursday 22 August 2019

Length 01:00

1 0 2 0 0 0
Iraq: Water Crisis in Basra

Monday 22 July 2019

Length 03:57

3 0 5 4 2 0
Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Venezuela: UN Should Lead Full-Scale Emergency Response

Thursday 04 April 2019

Length 03:34

2 0 26 0 0 0
US: Cervical Cancer Deaths Up for Black Women

Wednesday 28 November 2018

Length 05:18

3 0 2 0 0 0
Brazil: Pesticide Poisonings in Rural Areas

Friday 20 July 2018

Length 1:00

1 0 10 0 0 0
Valentine’s Day: Tainted Jewelry Supply Chains

Thursday 08 February 2018

Length 04:23

3 0 10 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Florida Should Expand Syringe Exchange Statewide

Tuesday 16 January 2018

Length 5:50

3 0 0 0 0 0
Drones in the Service of Human Rights

Monday 11 December 2017

Length 02:21

2 0 0 0 4 0
Lebanon: Waste Crisis Posing Health Risks

Friday 01 December 2017

Length 05:48

2 0 6 2 4 0
UN: Compensate Kosovo Lead Poisoning Victims

Thursday 07 September 2017

Length 4:04

3 0 0 0 0 0
Nujeen to EU: Refugees with Disabilities Deserve Better

Wednesday 31 May 2017

Length 1:26

2 0 0 0 0 0
Guatemala: Thousands Face Needless End-of-Life Suffering

Wednesday 17 May 2017

Length 4:18

3 0 0 0 0 0