Human Rights Watch

multimedia newsroom

Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Improve Security; Provide Accommodation in Schools

Thursday 13 June 2019


(Johannesburg, June 13, 2019) – Children with albinism face insecurity and significant obstacles to accessing quality education in the Tete province of Mozambique, Human Rights Watch said in a report released today. The report, “‘From Cradle to Grave’: Discrimination and Barriers to Education for Persons with Albinism in Tete Province, Mozambique” is in the form of a special web feature with video and photos. Human Rights Watch found children living with albinism in the central Mozambican province of Tete to be widely discriminated against, stigmatized, and often rejected at school in the community, and, at times, by their own families. They struggle to overcome barriers such as insecurity, bullying, and lack of reasonable adjustments in the classroom, which violates their right to education. Although the Mozambique government has taken important steps to better protect the rights of children with albinism, it needs to do more to ensure equal access to education.

PHOTOS (11)

MORE DISABILITIES
ALL STORIES

Mozambique: Education Barriers for Children with Albinism

Thursday 13 June 2019

Length 07:21

2 0 11 0 0 0
Kazakhstan: Education Barriers for Children with Disabilities

Thursday 14 March 2019

Length 04:47

3 0 0 0 0 0
Russia: Adult Prospects Dim for Youth with Disabilities

Thursday 06 December 2018

Length 005:00

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana: Oversight Needed to Enforce Shackling Ban

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Length 01:36

2 0 4 0 0 0
Indonesia: Shackling Reduced, But Persists

Tuesday 02 October 2018

Length 05:45

4 0 18 0 0 0
Bangladesh: Rohingya Refugees with Disabilities

Monday 24 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 0 0 0
Sign Language Key to Deaf People’s Rights

Sunday 23 September 2018

Length 02:15

3 0 0 1 0 0
Nepal: Barriers to Inclusive Education

Thursday 13 September 2018

Length 01:20

2 0 0 0 0 0
Iran: People With Disabilities Face Discrimination and Abuse

Wednesday 27 June 2018

Length 01:55

1 0 8 0 0 0
Brazil: People With Disabilities Confined in Terrible Conditions

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Length 06:52

4 0 10 0 0 0
India: Remove Hurdles to Justice for Women with Disabilities

Tuesday 03 April 2018

Length 05:55

4 0 5 0 0 0
Australia: Prisoners with Disabilities Neglected, Abused

Tuesday 06 February 2018

Length 03:15

3 0 8 0 0 0
World Report 2018: Fighting for Rights Succeeds

Thursday 18 January 2018

Length 12:22

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana Breaks The Chains On Mental Health

Monday 16 October 2017

Length 01:24

2 0 0 0 0 0
Ghana: People with Disabilities Freed from Chains

Friday 07 July 2017

Length 00:53

1 0 0 0 0 0
Central African Republic: People with Disabilities at High Risk

Wednesday 21 June 2017

Length 1:52

2 0 12 0 0 0
Nujeen to EU: Refugees with Disabilities Deserve Better

Wednesday 31 May 2017

Length 1:26

2 0 0 0 0 0